Women IPL - What to Expect?

Published:Dec 6, 202318:06
Women IPL - What to Expect?
Women IPL

The upcoming 2023 WPL (Women's Premier League) Twenty20 cricket season is scheduled to get underway on March 4th in an opening game between the Gujarat Giants and the Mumbai Indians. 

The inaugural season features five teams who will compete in a round-robin and playoffs-style competition. It replaces the Women's T20 challenge, and it's already shaping up to be one of the most exciting sporting leagues in the world. 

The WPL is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), and it's basically the women's version of the IPL – the Indian Premier League (the top tier of men's professional cricket in India). 

The question being asked here is, what can we expect from the Women's Premier League? Find out more right here. 

Which teams/franchises are in the Women's Premier League (WPL)?

The five teams/franchises that will be competing against each other in the first WPL cricket competition are the following:

  • Gujarat Giants Women
  • Mumbai Indians Women
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore Women
  • Delhi Capitals Women
  • UP Warriorz Women

In the men's Indian Premier League (IPL), a total of ten teams are owned by seven franchises, but only three of the owners decided to take up franchises in the WPL. The Royal Challengers Bangalore Women are based in Bangalore and owned by Diageo. 

The UP Warriorz are based in Lucknow and owned by Capri Global. The Mumbai Indians are based in Mumbai and are owned by IndiaWin Sports. 

The Gujarat Giants are based in Ahmedabad and owned by the Adani Group, and the Delhi Capitals, who are based in New Delhi, are owned by the JSW – GMR Group. 

Is it possible to bet on the WPL?

Yes. Many fully licensed online bookmakers currently have WPL betting markets with competitive odds. Some of the most trusted sites for people living in India are Bet Tilt, Mega Pari, 10CRIC, Pari Match, Betway, and 22Bet. 

These same trusted sites also have regular betting markets for the IPL (Indian Premier League), the Pakistan Super League, the Australian Big Bash League, the Lanka Premier League, the Caribbean Premier League, the Tamil Nadu Premier League, and the SA20 League in South Africa. 

If you want to learn more about any of the fully licensed Indian online sports betting sites, go to the official TheTopBookies.com website.

This trusted site also has the latest reviews for several other trusted online bookmakers and casinos, such as Blue Chip, Casino Days, ComeOn, 1XBet, Sportsbet.io, Dafabet, Pure Win, Bet365, and Sapphire Bet, to name just a few.

What to expect from the WPL

Some of the biggest names to watch out for in the WPL in this first season are Beth Mooney (captain of the Gujarat Giants / GG), Smriti Mandhana (captain of the Royal Challengers Bangalore / RCB), Harmanpreet Kaur (captain of the Mumbai Indians / MI), and Alyssa Healy (captain of the UP Warriorz). 

Some of the most expensive players from the WPL mini auction who will also be looking to make an impression in the inaugural season are Smriti Mandhana (RCB), Nat Sciver-Brunt (MI), and Ashleigh Gardner (GG). 

Before placing a bet on any upcoming cricket matches (women's or men's), it would be a good idea to carry out your own research into the teams and the players. This can help you place far strategic bets that are more likely [but not guaranteed] to return you a profit. 

TheTopBookies website also has a free cricket predictor app that you can download and install for free onto your smartphone. 

Each team is expected to play the other four teams twice, and then at the end, the league leader will automatically gain entry into the final. 

The teams that finish the WPL in second and third will then face off in an Eliminator match to gain entry to the final to play against the team that topped the table. The final match will determine the winner of the first-ever WPL season. 

Upcoming fixtures

The Gujarat Giants are set to host the Mumbai Indians on Saturday, March 4th, 2023, at 14:00. The following day, the Royal Challengers Bangalore are at home to the Delhi Capitals at 10:00, and the UP Warriorz are at home to the Gujarat Giants at 14:00. 

On March 6th, the Indians play the Royal Challengers, and then on March 7th, the Capitals play the Warriorz. You will be able to watch these games as they unfold or on-demand on the JioCinema mobile application or on the Sports 18 television channel, both of which are owned by Mumbai-based Viacom 18.

To stay updated with the latest Bollywood news, follow us on Instagram and Twitter and visit Socially Keeda, which is updated daily.

sociallykeeda profile photo

SociallyKeeda: Latest News and events across the globe, providing information on the topics including Sports, Entertainment, India and world news.